CLEMSON — The Tiger, Clemson University’s student newspaper, received multiple accolades April 20 at the annual South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Meeting. Staff from The Tiger combined to earn six first-place honors in the event held at Winthrop University in Rock Hill.

An image of Clemson football player Mike Williams shot by Kim Montuoro, which was named best in the state college publications by the South Carolina Press Association

This image of Mike Williams from the 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship Game was named the best sports photograph among college media by the South Carolina Press Association.
Image Credit: Kim Montuoro

“It is so rewarding to be honored for the work we do to keep the Clemson community informed,” said Katie McCarthy, a junior criminal justice major and editor-in-chief of The Tiger. “I could not be more proud of our staff and can’t wait to see what the new school year holds for us.”

The first-place awards belonged to:

  • Editorial writing — Tiger staff
  • Student government beat coverage — Tiger staff
  • Collegiate Journalist of the Year — Saavon Smalls
  • Sports Photograph — Kim Montuoro
  • Infographic — Nicole Clamp
  • Multimedia Story — Matthew Wieters and Katie McCarthy

“As a member of The Tiger for the last four years, I’m incredibly honored to have received this award along with the others presented to us,” said Smalls, a senior English major. “I’ve seen a vast amount of growth and improvement, not just from myself, but from The Tiger and every staff member I’ve encountered. As such, I was humbled to accept the SC Collegiate Journalist of the Year award for all of The Tiger’s members. I hope to see the paper that ‘Roars for Clemson’ continue to make waves.”

Saavon Smalls and Jackie Alexander at the South Carolina Press Association awards ceremony on April 20

Saavon Smalls, who was named Collegiate Journalist of the Year by the SCPA, pictured with student media director Jackie Alexander.
Image Credit: South Carolina Press Association

The Tiger also earned second-place awards for another McCarthy multimedia story (with contributors Saavon Smalls and John Tison) and for its use of social media. The newspaper received third-place recognition for an arts and entertainment story by Smalls and for its special section or edition.