By Brandon Boatwright

CLEMSON – Three Anderson County residents will serve on Clemson University’s Board of Visitors for 2009-2010:

David Merritt Jr. of Piedmont,
Gray Suggs of Anderson and
Rodney Williams of Piedmont.

The Board of Visitors consists of 50 members, each nominated by the board of trustees and appointed by the university president to three-year terms.

The board’s goal is to support the mission of Clemson University and to serve as advocates for the university in their communities. The board is a vocal supporter of public and private funding for higher education.