Benton H. Box Award recipient Julian Agyeman will deliver the George B. Hartzog Jr. Environmental Lecture.

Benton H. Box Award recipient Julian Agyeman will deliver the George B. Hartzog Jr. Environmental Lecture.

CLEMSON — The Institute for Parks at Clemson University will recognize five individuals for their exemplary leadership in environmental issues at the George B. Hartzog Jr. Awards Luncheon at noon Monday at the Madren Conference Center on the Clemson campus.

The event will be followed by the George B. Hartzog Jr. Environmental Lecture to be given by Julian Agyeman, professor of urban and environmental policy and planning at Tufts University and recipient of one of the Hartzog awards. He will speak on “Just Sustainabilities: Re-imaging Equality, Living with Limits” at 2 p.m. at the Strom Thurmond Institute on the Clemson campus. The lecture is free and open to the public.

Clemson’s Institute for Parks presents the annual lecture series and awards to showcase leading figures in the field of conservation and their work. The lecture and awards are named for George B. Hartzog, Jr., the seventh director of the National Parks Service.

The Hartzog Award recipients are:

Julian Agyeman, the keynote speaker, will accept the Benton H. Box Award, presented to an educator who inspires students and encourages curriculum innovation and an environmental ethic. Originator of the concept “just sustainabilities” — the full integration of social justice and sustainability — Agyeman has written six books on the topic. He is co-founder and former chair of the Black Environment Network (BEN), the first environmental justice-based organization of its kind in Britain, and also co-founder and editor-in-chief of Local Environment: The International Journal of Justice and Sustainability. A member of the Fellowship of the Royal Society of the Arts, he is series editor of “Just Sustainabilities: Policy, Planning and Practice” published by Zed Books, and the author of more than 150 publications including books, book chapters, articles, conference presentations, reports, book reviews and op-eds.

Judy Braus

Judy Braus will receive the William C. Everhart Award.

Judy Braus will receive the William C. Everhart Award, which recognizes sustained achievements that foster an appreciation of natural and cultural heritage. She is executive director of the North American Association for Environmental Education, a nonprofit dedicated to accelerating environmental literacy and civic stewardship through environmental education. She previously managed conservation education and outreach efforts for the National Audubon Society, World Wildlife Fund, National Wildlife Federation and U.S. Peace Corps. Among her accomplishments was the creation of TogetherGreen, a $20 million alliance between Audubon and Toyota fostering conservation leadership and engagement; and the authorship of Environmental Science, a textbook for high school students.

Brad Wyche

Brad Wyche will receive the Walter T. Cox Award

Brad Wyche will receive the Walter T. Cox Award, given for exceptional leadership in public service and natural and cultural resource management. A former lawyer, Wyche is founder and executive director of Upstate Forever, a nonprofit organization that addresses how and where to accommodate Upstate South Carolina’s rapid growth. Among the group’s notable initiatives are the Swamp Rabbit Trail and a bikeshare program in Greenville, and water quality improvements in several Upstate rivers and lakes. Appointed to environmental-focused committees by two former South Carolina governors, Dick Riley and Mark Sanford, Wyche is co-author of Guide to Environmental Law in South Carolina, now in its third edition, as well as numerous articles in legal journals on environmental and natural resource protection.

Wade Vagias

Wade Vagias will receive the Dwight A. Holder Award.

Wade Vagias will receive the Dwight A. Holder Award, which recognizes outstanding work by doctoral graduates or faculty members from Clemson’s parks, recreation and tourism management department and forestry and environmental conservation department. He is management assistant to the superintendent of Yellowstone National Park, with responsibilities that include legislative affairs and work with gateway communities. As part of this work, he recently completed a four-month assignment as interim superintendent of Bryce Canyon National Park in Utah, and in mid-October, he will begin a new assignment as superintendent of Craters of the Moon National Monument and Preserve in south-central Idaho. Vagias completed a Ph.D. in parks, recreation and tourism management at Clemson in 2009, where his research focused on evaluating the “Leave No Trace” visitor education program adopted by parks and protected areas around the world.

Priscilla E. Geigis

Priscilla E. Geigis will receive the Fran P. Mainella Award.

Finally, Priscilla E. Geigis will receive the Fran P. Mainella Award, which recognizes sustained and innovative achievement by a woman in the management of North America’s natural, historic and cultural heritage. Geigis is director of the Massachusetts Division of State Parks and Recreation, which manages more than 350,000 acres of public land used for recreational opportunities, and also serves as assistant commissioner for the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR). In these roles, Geigis has developed DCR’s “Park Passport” and “Learn to Camp” programs, brought Connecticut’s “Great Park Pursuit” to Massachusetts to promote state parks and started a “Healthy Heart Trail” program and “Park Serve Day.” She is also a former president of the National Association of State Park Directors and a founding officer of the America’s State Parks Foundation.


The Institute for Parks
The Clemson University Institute for Parks (CUIP) conducts a comprehensive program of research, education, training and outreach that is aimed at enhancing the management of the world’s parks and protected areas. It accomplishes this by providing park and protected area managers with innovative research to support science-based decision-making; and by developing current and future leaders in the park movement by providing interdisciplinary and transformative education and training programs. Currently the CUIP has more than 30 Clemson University Faculty Affiliates (Fellows) from four colleges.