CLEMSON — Students, faculty and staff were on hand Tuesday in the Watt Family Innovation Center to celebrate the 2017–18 academic year during the annual Clemson University awards ceremony.

“Our incredible faculty and staff are the core of this university,” said President James P. Clements. “They do their very best to impact our students in a positive way each and every day. I’m thankful for their dedication and commitment to our institution. The students we recognized today make working in higher education a true joy and have incredible futures ahead of them. Each has made a positive impact at Clemson and is very deserving of the recognition they received today.”

University leadership celebrate Leland Dunwoodie, 2018 winner of the Norris Medal as best all-around graduating senior

Leland Dunwoodie (second from left) accepts the Norris Medal, With him are Provost Bob Jones, President James P. Clements and Vice President for Student Affairs Almeda Jacks at the 2018 Clemson University awards ceremony.
Image Credit: Clemson University Relations

Leland Dunwoodie was the recipient of the Norris Medal, presented to the best all-around graduating senior. It is considered the most prestigious award bestowed upon an undergraduate Clemson student. Dunwoodie served as president of the Undergraduate Student Senate during the 2017–18 academic year while maintaining President’s List honors the past four years as a biochemistry major. He will receive his degree Friday afternoon and enroll in medical school at Vanderbilt University in July.

“I’m so humbled by this honor, because there are so many deserving students at this great university,” Dunwoodie said. “I’m very sad to be leaving Clemson, but at the same time I’m excited to represent this university moving forward. I’m so blessed every day to be a Clemson Tiger.”

The complete list of 2017–18 award winners is:

  • Alumni Master Teacher Award — Joseph Burgett, Construction Science and Management
  • Alumni Award for Cooperative Extension Distinguished Public Service — Tony Melton, Florence Extension Agent
  • Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievements in Research — Emil Alexov, Physics and Astronomy
  • Norris Medal — Leland Dunwoodie, Biochemistry
  • Phil Prince Award for Innovation in Teaching — Jeff Fine, Political Science
  • Frank A. Burtner Award for Excellence in Advising — Sarah Winslow, Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice
  • Algernon Sydney Sullivan Student Award — Zachary Girvin, Bioengineering; Haley McKay, Communication
  • Algernon Sydney Sullivan Non-Student Award — Matthew Leckenbusch, Performing Arts
  • Ted Westmoreland Faculty Excellence Award — Todd Schweisinger, Mechanical Engineering
  • Class of 1956 Staff Excellence Award — Ashley Crisp, Academic Success Center
  • Frankie O. Felder Graduate Student Award of Excellence — Deborah Wingler
  • Godley-Snell Award for Excellence in Agricultural Research — Anthony P. Keinath, Plant & Environmental Sciences
  • Rowland P. Alston Sr. Award for Excellence in Public Relations — Millie Davenport, Home & Garden Information Center
  • Governor’s Young Scientist Award for Excellence in Scientific Research — Srikanth Pilla, Campbell Graduate Engineering Program
  • Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence — Cynthia Haynes, English; Ronnie Chrestman, Institutional Research
  • Ralph D. Elliott Award for Outstanding Service to Off-Campus, Distance and Continuing Education — Gail DePriest, MBA Program
  • Phil and Mary Bradley Award for Mentoring in Creative Inquiry — Arelis Moore de Peralta, Languages and Youth, Family & Community Studies