The College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences has recognized its outstanding students with college and departmental awards.

“We could not be prouder of all of our students and their accomplishments and cannot wait to see what the future brings each of them,” said CBSHS Associate Dean Denise Anderson. “While we would have loved to have honored each and every one of them in person, we all celebrate them now in this virtual recognition! Congratulations!”

Students who received College Awards are:

  • Blue Key Academic and Leadership Award – Ashley Girvin, Public Health Sciences
  • Phi Kappa Phi Certificate of Merit – Rebecca Roth, Psychology
  • Undergraduate Emerging Leadership Award – Kaylin Woods, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research – Haley McKee, School of Nursing
  • Undergraduate Academic Excellence Award – Paige Kennett, Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminal Justice
  • Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement – Dylan Erikson, Political Science, Psychology
  • Award for Entrepreneurship in Community Service – Callahan Moore, Political Science
  • Award for Professional Engagement – Sophie Robinson, Communication
  • M.S. Award, Outstanding Teaching Assistant – Caitlin Anderson, Communication
  • M.S. Award, Outstanding Research Assistant – John Nettles, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Ph.D., Teaching Assistant – Chloe Wilson, Psychology
  • Ph.D., Research Assistant – Em Adams, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management

Read more about each award here.

Undergraduate and graduate students are also recognized within their departments. By department, these honorees include:

Department of Communication

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Sports Communication – Joseph Bober
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Communication – Katherine Kenney
  • Doreen Geddes Memorial Award for Excellence in Women and Communication – Kayla Craig
  • Outstanding Graduate Researcher Award – Joey Fontana

Read more about each award here.

Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management (PRTM)

  • Bert and Johnnie Brantley Outstanding Student Award – Hannah Snider
  • Stevenson-Smith-Lovett Award – Gabrielle Wimberly
  • Greg Schoper Leadership Award – Danielle Rudy
  • Judith Voelkl Award – Adeline Cagle
  • Lawrence R. Allen Engaged Future Professional Award – Ellerslie McCue
  • Fran McGuire Excellence in Teaching Award – Alexsandria “Ali” Dubin
  • Lawrence Allen Professional Contributions to the Field of Youth Development Award – Avriel Burlot

Read more about each award here.

Department of Political Science

  • James F. Byrnes American Government Award – Dylan Erikson
  • Jack Tuttle-Pi Sigma Alpha Award – Callahan Moore
  • Matt Locke Faculty Award for Excellence – Annalisa Bell, Kendall Jones
  • Horace Fleming Award – Ashley Jones

Read more about each award here.

Department of Psychology

  • The Psi Chi Research Award – Linnea Bacon, Stephanie Six
  • The Bernard Caffrey Award for Excellence in Psychology – Leah Bourque
  • Psychology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Alyssa Davis, Alexandra Doubles, Paige Kennett, Rebecca Lindgren
  • The Eugene Galluscio Award for Undergraduate Leadership – Dylan Erikson, Taylor Miguelino
  • The Ernest Jewell Hardesty Moore Award for the Outstanding Senior in Psychology – Rebecca Roth
  • First Year Graduate Student Research – Rachel Staats, Annamaria Wolf
  • Outstanding Master’s Degree Student in Psychology – Zachary Guyton, Gwendolyn Paige Watson
  • Outstanding Doctoral Degree Student in Psychology – Zachary Klinefelter, Kathryn Lucaites

Read more about each award here. 

Department of Public Health Sciences

  • Scholastic Achievement Award – Ashley Girvin
  • Lee A. Crandall Leadership Award – Rachel Reid
  • Distinguished Service Award – Holly Fulmer
  • Outstanding Cardiovascular Imaging Leadership Award – Shelby Lubowicki
  • Outstanding Health Promotion and Behavior Award – Reilly Casey
  • Outstanding Health Services Administration Award – Taylor Dunlap
  • Outstanding Pre-Professional Health Student – Megan Friscia
  • Certificate of Recognition for Excellence – Michaela Brown, Kayla Causey, Madisyn Currie, Georgia Hunt, Isaiah Jackson, Elliott Lyles
  • Research Excellence Award – Elizabeth Charron
  • Mentoring and Teaching Excellence – Brian Witrick
  • Outstanding Masters Student Leadership Award – Abigail Martin

Read more about each award here.

Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice

  • Ernest-Jewell Hardesty Moore Award for Outstanding Senior in Sociology – Heather Lee
  • Meg Wilkes-Karraker Award – Rachel Clyburn
  • Outstanding Anthropology Student Award – Colleen Runnion
  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award – Ashni Bhojwani
  • Department Chair’s Award – Kaitlyn Mitchell, Benjamin Grissom
  • Larson-Krupka Award for Excellence in Sociology – Sarah Richey

Read more about each award here.

School of Nursing

  • Shearin Award for Excellence – Nina Kremser
  • Edwards Memorial Award – Mary Margaret Cain, Bethany Ghent
  • Certificate of Excellence in Nursing – Haley McKee, Logan Young, Lauren Drum, Heather Hufnagel, Marlena Heracklis
  • Community Service Awards – Kylee Keenan, Reagan King, Hailey Connor, Jessenia Avila-Zea, Julia Driscoll

Read more about each award here.

The Clemson University College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences is focused on becoming a national and international leader in solving the problems faced by individuals, families, communities and societies. Established in July 2016, it aims to equip students and engage research and outreach to address health and wellness challenges, tackle human impacts on the environment, and build stronger communities by better understanding human, political and social behavior and the impact of an ever-connected world.