CBSHS student awards

Students pose with faculty for a photo after receiving awards.
Image Credit: College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences

The College of Behavioral, Social, and Health Sciences honored its outstanding graduate and undergraduate students at the third annual Awards of Excellence Ceremony in early April at the Strom Thurmond Institute Auditorium.

Students who received College Awards during the ceremony included:

  • Blue Key Academic and Leadership Award – Nolan Lennon, Department of Public Health Sciences
  • Phi Kappa Phi Certificate of Merit – Colleen Fralinger, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research – Joseph Murphy, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice
  • Undergraduate Academic Excellence Award – Gabrielle Cummings, Department of Psychology
  • Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement – Linnea Bacon, Department of Communication
  • Award for Entrepreneurship in Community Service – Jessica Foster, Department of Public Health Sciences
  • Award for Professional Engagement – Lindsay Bryda, Department of Political Science
  • Undergraduate Emerging Leadership Award – Caroline White, School of Nursing
  • M.S. Award, Outstanding Teaching Assistant – Erin Reifeis Dugan, School of Nursing
  • M.S. Award, Outstanding Researcher – Evan Lybrand, Department of Communication
  • Doctoral Award, Outstanding Teaching Assistant – Lauren Stephens, Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Doctoral Award, Outstanding Researcher ­– Rachel Lang-Balde, Department of Youth, Family and Community Studies

Undergraduate and graduate students in the college departments were also honored during the ceremony. By department, these honorees include:

Department of Communication

  • The Communication Faculty Book Award – Jake Armstrong
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award – Lauren Andrews
  • The Communication Outstanding Graduate Student Award – Gray Lee

School of Nursing

  • Herbert N. Shearin Memorial Award for Excellence in Nursing – Lauren Drum
  • Eugene Edwards Memorial Award – Mary Cannon and Cassidy Lindler
  • Community Service Awards – Macy Chassereau, Sarah Clopeck, Hailey Connor, Haley McKee and Logan Young
  • Certificates of Recognition for Excellence in Nursing – Tara Hamilton, Anna Katsis, Andrea Kurt, Jaclyn Liguori and Caroline White

Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management

  • Bert & Johnnie Brantley Outstanding Student Award – Lauren Fleming
  • Stevenson-Smith-Lovett Award – Hannah Snider
  • Greg Schoper Leadership Award – Hayley Campbell
  • Judith Voelkl Award – Kaylin Woods
  • Lawrence R. Allen Engaged Future Professional Award – Caleb Scruggs
  • Fran McGuire Excellence in Teaching Award – Lauren Stephens

Department of Political Science

  • James F. Byrnes Award – Lindsay Bryda
  • Matt Locke Faculty Award for Excellence – Madison Beasley and Caroline Sinegar
  • Jack Tuttle-Pi Sigma Alpha Service Award ­– Lauren McCormick

Department of Psychology

  • The Bernard Caffrey Award for Excellence in Psychology – Joesy Ott
  • Eugene Galluscio Award for Undergraduate Leadership – Elizabeth VanDoorn and Sadie Wannamaker
  • The Ernest Jewell Hardesty Moore Award for the Outstanding Senior in Psychology – Gabrielle Cummings
  • The Psychology Department Award for Academic Excellence – Mackenzie Foster, Dana Phan, Riley Graham and Molly Scarborough
  • First-Year Graduate Student Research Award – Claire Textor and Randle Villaneuva
  • Outstanding Master’s Degree Student in Psychology — Hannah Solini and Chloe Wilson
  • Outstanding Doctoral Degree Student in Psychology — Darlene Edewaard and Natassia Savage
  • Psi Chi Research Award – Kristin Free

Department of Public Health Sciences

  • Distinguished Service Award – Logan Martin
  • Scholastic Achievement Award – Sophia Nance
  • Leadership Award ­– Hailey Vivona
  • Outstanding Cardiovascular Award – Andrea Cole
  • Outstanding Health Promotion and Education Award – Audrey Ann Crocker
  • Outstanding Health Services Administration Award – Justine DiPasquale
  • Outstanding Pre-Professional Health Studies Award – Serena Khaleghi
  • Certificates of Recognition for Excellence – Mary Webb Adams and Justine Polomski

Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice

  • Ernest-Jewell Hardesty Moore Award for Outstanding Senior in Sociology – Annalisa Bell
  • Meg Wilkes-Karraker Award – Britney Allen
  • Outstanding Anthropology Student Award – Samantha Murphy
  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award – Emma Rodgers
  • Department Chair Award – Samantha Austin

The Clemson University College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences is focused on becoming a national and international leader in solving the problems faced by individuals, families, communities and societies. Established in July 2016, it aims to equip students and engage research and outreach to address health and wellness challenges, tackle human impacts on the environment, and build stronger communities by better understanding human, political and social behavior and the impact of an ever-connected world.

For a full gallery of photos from the event, click here.