Kolis is a professor of inorganic chemistry.
Image Credit: Clemson University Relations

CLEMSON, South Carolina – Joseph Kolis and R. Kenneth Marcus, two faculty members in the department of chemistry, have been awarded titled professorships.

Kolis, a professor of inorganic chemistry, is now an endowed professor – the Tobey-Beaudrot Professor of Chemistry. This professorship was made possible by a gift from Paul L. Tobey (class of ’35) and his wife, Sarah Beaudrot, of Rehoboth, Massachusetts.

Kolis earned his B.S. (1979) at Worcester Polytechnic Institute and his Ph.D. (1984) at Northwestern University with Professors Du Shriver and Fred Basolo. His postdoctoral research, under professor R.J. Gillespie, was conducted at McMaster University before Kolis joined the Clemson faculty in 1985. He has published over 260 papers, holds 14 patents and won the Clemson University Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievements in Research in 2015.

The synthesis and chemistry of novel inorganic compounds is a point of interest in the Kolis lab, particularly those reactions that occur under very high temperatures and pressures or in unusual solvents. Kolis specializes in growth of crystals in high-pressure water for lasers and optics.

Marcus is an analytical chemist at Clemson.
Image Credit: Clemson University Relations

The title of “University Professor of Chemistry” has been awarded to Marcus, who specializes in the development of analytical chemistry instrumentation at Clemson. Marcus’ research covers a broad spectrum of applications, from nuclear non-proliferation to the isolation of antibodies used in biopharmaceuticals.

Marcus earned B.S. degrees (1982) in chemistry and physics from Longwood College and a Ph.D. (1986) in analytical chemistry from the University of Virginia. He serves on the editorial advisory board for three international journals and was the recipient of the 2001 S.C. Governor’s Award for Excellence in Science Research. In 2010, Professor Marcus was named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), in 2012 a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (FAAAS), and in 2016 a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.