Pablo Unda (left) talks to a potential student worker in his office.
Image Credit: Clemson University

This Tiger left his hometown of Cuidad Valles, Mexico as a teenager to study in Kingsville, Texas. What was supposed to be a semester abroad, turned into a longer stay. He loved his new country and wanted to make it his home. So, he finished high school, college and graduate school in the states and now helps smooth the path for international employees who want to call Clemson University home.

Meet Pablo Unda.

Title: International employment manager, Office of Human Resources

Years at Clemson: 11 years

What I do at Clemson: I manage the unit of international employment for Clemson University. We are in charge of making sure that all the international employees at Clemson have the proper and current work authorization. We do their tax analysis to make sure they are taxed the right way. Our office meets with these international employees often, especially at the time of hire and then throughout their time here to maintain updated documents. We also review all payments from the university to international vendors (any international company or individual that Clemson does business with) to ensure tax compliance.

What I love about Clemson: I love the atmosphere. I like working with people. Currently, I like that I work not only with regular employees but I also work with student employees. I also like the fact that I get to meet all kinds of different people from different cultures. You can learn a lot from people from different parts of the world.

Accomplishment I’m most proud of: My children are my proudest accomplishment. I have a 15-year-old son and a 12-year-old daughter. They both love to read, and they both enjoy science and history. My son plays viola and is on the chess team. My daughter is very creative and likes to keep her hands busy. She recently won first place in the Clemson-area schools art show for a 3D piece she made using pipe cleaners! They are my pride and joy and I always enjoy being with them.

Where I see myself in five years: Hopefully still here in Clemson, I love this community. I hope to continue in HR, and I hope to continue to grow within HR.

Last thing I watched on TV: NCIS

Guilty pleasure: Cheesecake, especially New York style with berries

One thing most people don’t know about me: I love to read, and my favorite game on my phone is Words with Friends. If you ask my wife, I can be a little competitive. I also like to travel when I have the opportunity. Occasionally, I enjoy collecting coins and different currencies.