CLEMSON — Clemson University President James P. Clements appointed a 21-member committee to lead a national search for the university’s next provost. The position will be elevated to the level of executive vice president for academic affairs.

“This is one of the most critical positions on campus, and I want to express my appreciation to the faculty, staff and students who have agreed to serve Clemson in this important capacity,” he said.

The committee will be chaired by Jeremy King, professor of physics and astronomy and past president of the Faculty Senate.

Other committee members include:

  • John Ballato, professor, materials science and engineering, and director of the Center for Optical Materials Science and Engineering Technologies (COMSET);
  • Sherry Biggers, senior lecturer, mathematical sciences;
  • Tony Cawthon, Alumni Distinguished Professor of educational leadership, counselor education and human and organizational development;
  • Camille Cooper, associate librarian, University Libraries;
  • Syd Cross, Alumni Distinguished Professor of Art;
  • Peter Gianiodis, associate professor of management;
  • Juan Gilbert, Presidential Endowed Chair, School of Computing;
  • Anand Gramopadhye, dean of the College of Engineering and Science;
  • Ellen Granberg, associate professor and chair, sociology and anthropology;
  • J. Drew Lanham, Alumni Distinguished Professor, wildlife ecology;
  • Fran McGuire, Alumni Distinguished Professor Emeritus of parks, recreation and tourism management and director of program development for the Pre-Collegiate Programs Office;
  • Rachel Moore, associate professor of history;
  • Angela Nixon, development writer, Staff Senate president;
  • June J. Pilcher, Alumni Distinguished Professor, psychology;
  • Cal Sawyer, assistant professor in the School of Agriculture, Forest and Environmental Sciences; and associate director of the Center for Watershed Excellence in PSA;
  • Windsor Sherrill, professor public health sciences, interim associate vice president for health research and interim chief science officer at Greenville Health System;
  • Kelly Smith, associate professor of philosophy and biological sciences and Faculty Senate president;
  • Lesly Temesvari, Alumni Distinguished Professor of biological sciences;
  • Maddy Thompson, economics major, Undergraduate Student Government representative; and
  • Lauren Woolbright, graduate student in rhetorics, communication and information design.

“I want to thank Kelly Smith for his leadership in developing a nomination process that engaged so many faculty and yielded such outstanding results,” Clements said. “I am pleased to say that Dr. King will chair a very strong, capable committee that represents the breadth and diversity of the university, both academically and culturally.”

“The Faculty Senate is very pleased to see a committee with such strong faculty representation and we will work to ensure strong input from faculty and the rest of the Clemson community throughout the process,” said Smith.

“The committee membership reflects not only the diversity of passions, expertise, experience, skills and station that is resident in the Clemson family, but also a common focus: identifying a chief academic officer who can provide long-term leadership to sustain and enhance further the quality, value and impact of Clemson University in an ever-changing and increasingly complex landscape for higher education,” King said.

“I’m confident that this committee will ensure the significant level of transparency and opportunities for input that faculty and staff expect while ensuring the strongest applicant pool that they, the citizens of South Carolina, our students and their families, and our many external partners and stakeholders, all deserve,” he said.