CLEMSON — Clemson University’s Army and Air Force ROTC units will hold a joint ceremony to commission 30 second lieutenants at 1:30 p.m. Thursday, May 8, in Tillman Hall auditorium.  Nineteen students will receive commissions into the U.S. Army and 11 will receive commissions into the U.S. Air Force.

The ceremony will feature guest speaker Col. (Ret.) Rick Schwartz, a 1984 graduate of Lynchburg College, Virginia, who received a Master of Science from Clemson University in 1995. A former Army ROTC instructor, he retired last year after 29 years in the Army.

Following the commissioning ceremony, the new lieutenants will participate in a Silver Dollar Salute ceremony at Military Heritage Plaza. The ceremony marks the first salute the new officer receives from an enlisted service member. As a sign of mutual respect, the officer presents the enlisted member with a silver dollar.

The commissioning candidates for the May ceremony and their majors are:

U.S. Army

  • Samuel Adams from Hartsville, financial management
  • John Alt from Richburg, industrial engineering
  • Colin Bassett from Houston, Texas, financial management
  • Logan Birchfield from Greenville, mechanical engineering
  • Robert Blair from Cornwall, New York, physics
  • Thomas Conners from Apex, North Carolina, construction science and management
  • Madeline Corydon from Evanston, Illinois, history
  • Michael Desjardin from Merritt Island, Florida, financial management
  • Samuel Grosse from Irmo, management
  • Jordan Gumapas from Laurel, Maryland, nursing
  • Sharosca Mack from Loris, economics
  • Cameron Martin from Boiling Springs, microbiology
  • Julia Martin from Clarksville, Tennessee, history
  • Hayes McDowell from Conway, political science
  • Daniel Nagle from Ashburn, Virginia, sociology
  • Erin Reid from Richburg, language and international trade
  • Blakely Schirtz from Greenville, management
  • Patrick Smith from Springfield, Virginia, civil engineering
  • Christopher Williamson from Florence, marketing

U.S. Air Force

  • Dana Basso of Hoschton, Georgia, psychology
  • Drew Bouchard of Manassas, Virginia, political science
  • Carl Eichert of Laurel, Maryland, physics
  • Tyler Frazier of Lake Wylie, physics
  • Laura Huxtable of Richmond, Virginia, industrial engineering
  • Anna Lee Lenderman of Moore, psychology
  • Jennifer McCourt of Eldersburg, Maryland, accounting
  • Madison Montgomery of Radford, Virginia, electrical engineering
  • Jonathan Powers of Fairfax Station, Virginia, biosystems engineering
  • Alexandra Rea of Montgomery, Alabama, management
  • Shauna Young of North Charleston, management