A Clemson University associate professor of automotive engineering has won SAE’s Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award.

Dr. Beshah Ayalew won in the ground vehicle category in recognition of significant contributions to teaching, curriculum development and research, including grants, independent research and professional development.Beshah Ayalew

Established in 1963, the award is administered by the Teetor Educational Award Committee of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

It is open to young engineering educators with more than three, but less than ten years of full-time faculty experience

The award is the latest for Ayalew, who is co-director of the DOE GATE Center of Excellence in Sustainable Vehicle Systems at the Clemson University-International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR).

His past awards include the Clemson University Board of Trustees Award for Faculty Excellence in 2012 and the NSF CAREER Award for his research in applied control of distributed parameter systems in 2011.